NaNoWriMo

I’m doing it this year. I’m absolutely going to finish writing one of my novels this month.

And hopefully that will put my little widget right here on my page. That’s just to keep me honest and keep my feet to the flames.  So far so good. I’ve written 4745 words thus far, but the novel I’m working on will be about 90K, so I’m a little behind where I want to be even though I’m on track for the 50K of NaNoWriMo.

You want to know what I’m working on? You flatterer you! For those of you who have known me for any great length of time, you know that I’ve been working on a science fiction (space opera, thank you) series for years and I’ve never managed to finish the first book. I had an epiphany recently that the book I’ve been torturing isn’t going well because it’s not the first book in the series. There’s just too much backstory that isn’t revealed and turns up here and there just to bug the reader. So, I’m starting at the beginning of the story.

Melia Dawn is from a prominent political family on Amazon. During her mother’s campaign, a gruesome murder is discovered. Since finding the real murderer would mean a political scandal at just the wrong time, an off-worlder man is framed. When Melia becomes his defense attorney her family and Amazon’s political system lean on her to throw the case, but she pulls out every stop during the trial to see her client acquitted. More corruption leads to his conviction and he’s sentenced to die. Melia breaks him out of prison and helps him escape, seeking a re-trial at the Imperial Seat.

What do you think?

All right, all right, yes, I’m stalling a little bit.

In other news, Rusty Fischer’s book ‘Reanimation Reform School’ is all done with its final edits and off to the publisher. Sadly, they’re still coping with the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, so even though I’m glad that Rusty’s book came out so well I’m also really worried for them!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “NaNoWriMo

  1. Go, m’Lady, Go !! :):) well done ..

    Like

  2. You can do it Melissa, this is my first year of participating and my target is 80K and I haven’t even reach 10K yet but I will get there! And you’ve got a great blog too. Good job!

    Like

    • robitille

      Thanks Seyi! It’s my first year too, but I write fast (both of my published novels were written in about a month to two months each) and find the ‘pressure’ of the word count requirement to make my goal to be helping me. I haven’t gone back and stabbed my poor book to death with The Red Pen of Doom yet, anyway! I like your blog too! :c)

      Like

      • Thanks Melisa, wish I could write as fast as you do but I’ve got lots of commitments and with three boisterous kids, it’s one hell of a ride. I enjoy it though. I will be a constant visitor at your blog. Cheers!

        Like

Leave a Reply

